Seventy-two judges from throughout the nation will participate in the 2021 National Finals. To a large extent, the quality of the National Finals depends upon the expertise and demeanor of the judges.

divide b
Judges (listed alphabetically)

Robert Allison, Professor of History, Suffolk University, East Boston

Petra Alsoofy, Outreach and Partnerships Manager, Institute for Social Policy and Understanding, Melvindale MI

Barry Anderson, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court

Michael Anderson, Director of Native American Education, Walker Hackensack Akeley Schools, Walker, MN

Susan Arnett, Deputy Public Defender (ret), Univ. of Hawaii (lecturer in law), Honolulu, Hawaii

Sean Arthurs, Director of Global Education and Training, EarthRights International, Alexandria, VA

Jack Barlow, Charles A. Dana Professor of Politics, Juniata College

Scott Barnhart, Chair of the Board, Indiana Bar Foundation

Jay Barth, M.E. & Ima Graves Peace Distinguished Professor of Politics, Emeritus, Hendrix College

Lester Brooks, Professor of History, Anne Arundel Community College

Jocelyn Broman, Legislative Assistant, U.S. House of Representatives, Arlington, VA

Henry Chambers, Jr., Professor of Law, University of Richmond School of Law, Richmond, Virginia

Augustus Chin, Municipal Judge - Holladay, City of Holladay

LaJuana Davis, Professor of Law, Samford University Cumberland Law School, Birmingham

John DeLoache, Sr. Staff Attorney, SC Assoc. of Counties, COLUMBIA

Robert Dion, Professor of Political Science, University of Evansville, Evansville

Michael DiPierro, Director of Standards, Florida Department of Education, Tallahassee, Florida

Lindsey Draper, Circuit Court Commissioner (Ret.), Milwaukee County, Wisconsin

Nicholas Drummond, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Black Hills State University, Spearfish

Chuck Dunlap, President & CEO, Indiana Bar Foundation

Zach Eastburn, Attorney, Quarles and Brady LLP, Madison, WI

Tim Eigo, Editor, State Bar of Arizona, Phoenix, Arizona

Francene Engel, Constitutional Scholar and Lecturer of Political Science, Maryland Council for Civic and History Education

Susan Firestone, Retired Patent Attorney, Allen County Bar Foundation, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Anitere Flores, Senator, State Senator, Florida (2010-2020), Miami, FL

Kevin Fox, Teacher, CCE Consultant, Arcadia CA

Stephen Frantzich, Dr., U.S. Naval Academy (retired), Gambrills

Maria E. Garnett, Policy Advisor, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, Richmond, VA

Jamie Gass, Director, Center for School Reform, Pioneer Institute, Boston

Evan Gessner, Attorney, Davis Frawley, LLC, Lexington

Benjamin Glickman, Supervising Deputy Attorney General, California Department of Justice

Matthew Gutwein, Retired President and CEO of the Health and Hospital Corporation, Indianapolis

Doreen Hartwell, Attorney, Nevada Center for Civic Education

Charles Hinderliter, Director of Government Affairs, St. Louis REALTORS®, St. Louis, MO

Marcia Holland, Adjunct Professor, Alexander Blewett III School of Law at the University of Montana

David Hudson, First Amendment Fellow, Freedom Forum Institute, Nashville, Tennessee

Timothy Isaacs, Executive Director, The center for Teaching the Rule of Law

Stephen Jewett, County Judge, Ninth Judicial Circuit of Florida, Winter Park, Florida

Caitlin Johnston, SVP, Associate General Counsel, Peloton Interactive

Darcy Kern, Professor of History, Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven, Connecticut

Ali Khan, Attorney, The Law Offices of Ali Khan, Park Ridge

Erin Lagesen, Presiding Judge, Department Three, Oregon Court of Appeals

Susan Leeson, Senior justice, Oregon Supreme Court

Richard Leiter, Professor of Law & Director of the Schmid Law Library, University of Nebraska College of Law

Andrew Levy, Partner, Brown Goldstein Levy LLP, Baltimore, MD

Steve Lindly, Retired criminal justice system administrator, State of Wyoming, Cheyenne, WY

Kurt Mabis, Attorney, United States Air Force

Thomas Mackey, Professor of History, University of Louisville

Tandy McConnell, Teacher, Richland II School District, Columbia, SC

Reta McKannan, Attorney, Reta A McKannan, Esq.

Mariam Memarsadeghi, International Democracy Advocate, (independent)

Mike Miles, County Official, Jefferson County, Al

Anthony Miller, Senior Software Engineer, Apollo GraphQL, Las Vegas, NV

Karen Milton, Executive Deputy Inspector General/Chief of Staff, Office of the MTA Inspector General, New York

Tim Moore, Deputy Director, Center for the Study of the American Constitution

Edmund Murphy, Judge, Pierce County Superior Court, Tacoma

Tim Murphy, Senior Associate Director, Master of Liberal Arts Program, The University of Chicago

Diana Owen, Professor, Georgetown University, Chevy Chase, Maryland

Edward Philpot, Attorney, Edward D. Philpot, Jr. PLLC, Laconia

Liza Prendergast, Vice President, Strategy and Technical Leadership, Democracy International

Beth Ratway, Senior Technical Assistance Consultant, American Institutes for Research, Merton, WI

Donald Rogers, Ph. D., Adjunct Lecturer in History (Retired), Central Connecticut State University

Molly Russell, Staff Attorney, Legal Aid of West Virginia, Morgantown

Julie Silverbrook, Senior Director of Partnerships and Constitutional Scholar in Residence, iCivics

Mark Simons, Attorney, Partner

Candida Steel, Judge, US Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Judge, retired

Murray Snow, Chief Judge, United States District Court for Arizona, United States District Court for the District of Arizona, Tempe, Arizona

Rebecca Steinhoff, Executive Director, John P. Ellbogen Foundation, Casper, WY

Joseph Stewart, Jr., Professor of Political Science, Clemson University

Daniel Taubman, Senior Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals

Tom Tinder, Executive Director, West Virginia Bar Foundation

Edward Volpe, Attorney, Edward L. Volpe, P. C.

Thomas Vontz, Professor of Education, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Tammy Waller, Director for K-12 Social Studies and World Languages, Arizona Department of Education

Daniel Wong, Member, CCE National Board of Directors, Center for Civic Education

Myron Yoder, M.Ed, Chairman Pennsylvania Professional Standards and Practices Commission, Pennsylvania State Commission

Anne Zinkin, Senior and Supervisory Law Clerk, New Hampshire Supreme Court, Concord, NH

divide b
Judges' Resources

We the People High School Textbook

  Judges' Orientation Video


2021 National Finals

We the People Logo

Important Information




Contact Rebecca Reeder at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Robert Leming at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321

  Email: web@civiced.org

  Media Inquiries: cce@civiced.org

  Website: www.civiced.org

© Center for Civic Education