Print E-mail

Participant Network

The Campaign to Promote Civic Education effort is a fifty-state campaign (including the District of Columbia) aimed at restoring the civic mission of our nation's schools by encouraging states and school districts to devote sustained and systematic attention to civic education from kindergarten through twelfth grade.  The campaigns share the common goal of improving civic education policy and practice. For more information about this national policy effort, please contact Mark Molli or John Hale. You can also find campaign resources, events, and partners at this site.


To learn more about the Campaign in your state, please contact your state campaign facilitor:


ALASKA
Julie Truskowski
We the People State Coordinator
jtruskowski1@gmail.com

ALABAMA
Alan Stevens
Executive Director
Alabama Center for Law and Civic Education
asteven4@samford.edu

ARKANSAS
Jeff Whittingham
Associate Professor
University of Central Arkansas
jeffw@uca.edu

ARIZONA
Jennifer Castro
Professional Development Manager
Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education
Jennifer.Castro@azflse.org

CALIFORNIA
Cheryl Cook-Kallio
We the People State Coordinator
cherylcookkallio@gmail.com

COLORADO
Jackie Johnson
Director, Colorado We the People Program, James Madison Legacy Project
jsjohnson65@gmail.com

Christopher Elnicki
Executive Director
Colorado Center for Civic Learning & Engagement
celnicki@c3le.org

Adrienne Tecza
C3LE State Coordinator
atecza@c3le.org

CONNECTICUT
Erin Simcik
We the People State Coordinator
erinsimcik@gmail.com

Julie Jaquish
Civics First, Inc.
rjaquish4@hotmail.com

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Donna Phillips
Director of Curriculum Innovations and Assessment
District of Columbia Public Schools
doctorphillips23@yahoo.com

DELAWARE
Patricia Quann
Executive Director
Delaware Law Related Education
delrecntr@aol.com

Chris Kenton
Social Studies Curriculum Specialist
chris.kenton@doe.k12.de.us

FLORIDA
Annette Boyd Pitts
Executive Director
Florida Law Related Education Association, Inc
staff@flrea.org

GEORGIA
Laura McCarty
President
Georgia Humanities Council
ltmc@georgiahumanities.org

HAWAII
Matt Mattice
Executive Director
King Kamehameha V Judiciary History Center
matt@jhchawaii.net

Reginald (Keahe) Davis
Education Specialist
King Kamehameha V - Judiciary History Center

IOWA
Stefanie Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
stefanierosenbergwager@gmail.com

John Wheeler
LRE Director
Iowa State Bar Association
jwheeler@iowabar.org

IDAHO
Troy Hamilton
We the People State Coordinator
Boise High School
trocyhamilton@hotmail.com

ILLINOIS
Ashanti Chimurenga
Executive Director
chimurenga@ilciviced.org

INDIANA
Charles Dunlap
Executive Director
Indiana Bar Foundation
cdunlap@inbf.org

KANSAS
Thomas Vontz
Professor of Education
Kansas State University
tvontz@ksu.edu

KENTUCKY
Glenn Manns
Educational Recovery Specialist, District 180
Kentucky Department of Education / Division of Student Success / Office of Continuous Improvement and Support
glenn.manns@education.ky.gov

LOUISIANA
Peggy Cotogno
Executive Director
Louisiana Center for Law & Civic Education
peggy.cotogno@lsba.org

MASSACHUSETTS
Roger Desrosiers
We the People State Coordinator
Massachusetts Center for Civic Education
rodesros@gmail.com

MARYLAND
Marcie Taylor-Thoma
Associate Director
Maryland Council for Civic & History Education
marciethoma@gmail.com

MAINE
Jamie Austin
We the People State Coordinator
jamie.b.austin@maine.edu

MICHIGAN
Ellen Zwarensteyn
Executive Director
Michigan Center for Civic Education
ezwarensteyn@miciviced.org

Linda Start
lstart@miciviced.org

MINNESOTA
Jennifer Bloom
Executive Director
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation
jbloom@teachingcivics.org

MISSOURI
Tony Simones
Director of Citizenship Education
The Missouri Bar Center
tsimones@mobar.org

MISSISSIPPI
Contact the Center

MONTANA
Richard Hildner
We the People State Coordinator
richardhildner@icloud.com

NORTH CAROLINA
Dean Smith
Assistant Professor of Communication
High Point University
dsmith1@highpoint.edu

NORTH DAKOTA
Sharon Espeland
Assistant Principal
Century High School
sharon_espeland@bismarckschools.org

NEBRASKA
Pam Carrier
Executive Director
Nebraska State Bar Foundation
pam@nebarfnd.org

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Robin E. Knippers
LRE Coordinator / NH State Coordinator WTP Programs
New Hampshire Bar Association
reknippers@nhbar.org

NEW JERSEY
Arlene Gardner
Executive Director
New Jersey Center for Civic Education
arlenega@sas.rutgers.edu

NEW MEXICO
Dora Marroquin
Executive Director
Center for Democracy and Civic Education
nmcdce@me.com

NEVADA
Kathleen Dickinson
Law Related Education Coordinator
State Bar of Nevada
kathleend@nvbar.org

NEW YORK
Debra Lesser
Executive Director
Justice Resource Center
dlesser@schools.nyc.gov

OHIO
Tim Kalgreen
Program Coordinator
Ohio Center for Law Related Education
tkalgreen@oclre.org

Ryan Suskey
Director of Professional Development & Programs
Ohio Center for Law-Related Education
rsuskey@oclre.org

OKLAHOMA
Jane McConnell
Civic Education Consultant
cjanemcconnell@att.net

OREGON
Marilyn Cover
marilynrcover@gmail.com

PENNSYLVANIA
David Keller Trevaskis
Pro Bono Coordinator
Pennsylvania Bar Association
david@leap-kids.com

RHODE ISLAND
Michael Trofi
We the People Programs Coordinator
mtrofi@westwarwickpublicschools.com

SOUTH CAROLINA
Donald Lanier
LRE Program Manager
South Carolina Bar - LRE Division
donald.lanier@scbar.org

SOUTH DAKOTA
Wes Brown
Director of Special Projects
Chiesman Center for Democracy
wbrown@chiesman.org

Robert Timm
President/CEO
hillcityrob@gmail.com

TENNESSEE
Janis Kyser
Executive Director
Tennesee Center for Civic Learning and Engagement
tccle111@gmail.com

TEXAS
Jan Miller
Law Related Education Director
State Bar of Texas
jan.miller@texasbar.com

UTAH
Dawn Harvey
We the People State Coordinator
Utah Law Related Education
lrecoordinator@gmail.com

VIRGINIA
Emily Voss
Co-Executive Director
Virginia Civics Education Inc
emily@vacivics.org

VERMONT
Daniel Dagenais
Teacher
dgdagenais@aol.com

WASHINGTON
Kathy Hand
Executive Director
Civic Education Washington State
kathyhand@comcast.net

WISCONSIN
Jack Jarmes
Project Citizen State Coordinator
Civics in Wisconsin
jackjarmes@yahoo.com

James Kegel
We the People State Coordinator
Civics in Wisconsin
jkegel@charter.net

WEST VIRGINIA
Rebecca Tinder
We the People State Coordinator
Bowles Rice McDavid Graff & Love LLP
rtinder@bowlesrice.com

WYOMING
Matt Strannigan
We the People State Coordinator
The American Heritage Center
mstrannigan@hotmail.com

Dick Kean
Senior Consultant
kean@civiced.org