Findlay High School Wins Ohio We the People Finals

Jan 31, 2012 / 2012 National Finals, Volume 4, Issue 1
Tags: , , , , , ,

Students from Findlay High School won the Ohio We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution high school state competition on January 27 in Columbus. The students will represent Ohio at the 25th Annual We the People National Finals at George Mason University and in Washington, D.C., on April 28-May 1.

More than 130 students from six classes from across the Buckeye State competed at the competition, held at the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center, home to the Supreme Court of Ohio. This was the first time the We the People competition was held at this site.

Findlay High School won the Ohio state We the People championship

Findlay High School won the Ohio state We the People championship

Van Wert High School was the state runner-up in an extremely close race. This was the first time a class from Van Wert competed in the state competition. Other participating schools include Archbold High School (Archbold), Bishop Hartley High School (Columbus), Northmont High School (Clayton), and West Carrollton High School (West Carrollton).

“The students obviously worked very hard in their preparation for the competition. The competition judges kept talking about how knowledgeable, informed, and articulate the students are,” said Tim Kalgreen, a program coordinator for the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education and We the People state coordinator.

Judges, attorneys, college professors, and other community leaders from across Ohio judged the competition. State Supreme Court Justice Robert Cupp, State Senator Cliff Hite, State Senator Troy Balderson, and State Representative Tracy Maxwell Heard were a few of judges at the competition. Justice Cupp also delivered a keynote address to the students following the competition.

We the People is administered in Ohio by the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education.

If you would like to donate to Findlay High School’s National Finals Travel Fund, please click here and be sure to note “National Finals –Ohio” as the purpose of your donation. Donations to the We the People Program are also accepted here.

To learn more about the 25th Anniversary We the People National Finals, visit the National Finals website.

Comments: 0

« Wyoming State Championship Won by Cheyenne Central High School | Easthampton High School Students Are Massachusetts We the People Champs »