American Civic Education Teacher Awards: 2015 Winners

Sep 02, 2015 / American Civic Education Teacher Awards

Teachers from California, Idaho, and Indiana are recipients of the 2015 American Civic Education Teacher Awards (ACETA), recognizing their exemplary work preparing young people to become informed and engaged citizens. The ACETA winners are Jill R. Baisinger of Cathedral High School in Indianapolis, Indiana, Jose Flores of Brawley Union High School in Brawley, California, and Holly Kartchner of Blackfoot High School in Blackfoot, Idaho.The awards are given annually to teachers of civics, government and related subjects who have demonstrated exceptional expertise, dynamism, and creativity in motivating students to learn about the Constitution, Congress, and public policy.

ACETA is sponsored by the Center for Civic Education, the Center on Congress at Indiana University, and the National Education Association.

The three awardees share a passion for explaining democracy and citizenship in an engaging way and helping young people see that what goes on in local, state, and federal government is relevant to their lives. All three share a particular fervor for extending their classroom into the community.

Each year the ACETA program selects and showcases three teachers whose students represent the diversity of the American public- and private-school systems. Applicants must be full-time classroom teachers of grades K–12. There is no fee to apply. In addition to a two-page self-portrait essay and their resume, applicants must submit three letters of recommendation: two from teaching peers and one from their school principal.

With the recognition this year of Baisinger, Flores, and Kartchner, the ACETA program has now honored thirty teachers since the awards were first given in 2006. For more information on ACETA and names or past recipients please visit or contact Maria Gallo at

Comments: 0

« Project Citizen National Showcase Results Are In! | American Lawyers Alliance Announces Teacher of the Year Award »