Collaborating Organizations Print

The following organizations in the United States and other countries participate in the Civitas International Programs network.

Partners in the United States


ALABAMA: Alan Stevens, Alabama Center for Law and Civic Education, astevens@aclce.org

ALASKA: Mary Bristol, Civitas Alaska, akbristol@gci.net

Phyllis Bowie, Civitas Alaska, phyllisbowie@gci.net

CALIFORNIA: Carol Hatcher, Hatcher International Consulting, cahatcher4@yahoo.com

David Moorhouse, davidmoorhouse@cox.net

COLORADO: Jackie Johnson, The Civic Canopy, johnsonjs@qwest.net

CONNECTICUT: James Schmidt, Civics First, james.schmidt03@gmail.com

DELAWARE: Patricia Quann, Delaware Law Related Education Center, Inc., delrecntr@aol.com

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: Contact the Center for Civic Education

FLORIDA: Annette Boyd Pitts, Florida Law Related Education Association, Inc., abpflreaed@aol.com

IDAHO: Dan Prinzing, Wassmuth Center for Human Rights, dan@wassmuthcenter.org

ILLINOIS: Patton Feichter, pfeichter@comcast.net · Natale Fuller, natalefuller@gmail.com

INDIANA: Arlene Benitez, Center for Social Studies and International Education, Indiana University, abenitez@indiana.edu

Terrence Mason, Center for Social Studies and International Education, Indiana University, tmason@indiana.edu

IOWA: Linda Martin, Area Education Agency 267, linda19f@gmail.com

KANSAS: Thomas Vontz, Kansas State University Center for Social Studies Education, tvontz@ksu.edu

KENTUCKY: Contact the Center for Civic Education

MARYLAND: Marcie Taylor-Thoma, Maryland Council for Civic Education, marciethoma@hotmail.com

MASSACHUSETTS: Charles S. White, Boston University, cswhite@bu.edu

MICHIGAN: Linda Start, Michigan Center for Civic Education, linda.start@oakland.k12.mi.us

MISSISSIPPI: Susie Burroughs, Mississippi State University, sburroughs@colled.msstate.edu

MISSOURI: Alden W. Craddock, Center for Civic Engagement and Democracy, Maryville University, acraddock@maryville.edu

NEVADA: Judith Simpson, Foundation for Relevant Education About the Law, judith7640@aol.com

NEW JERSEY: Arlene Gardner, New Jersey Center for Civic Education, agardner@njclre.rutgers.edu

NEW MEXICO: Dora Marroquin, Center for Democracy and Civic Education, dora@cdce.org

NEW YORK: Debra Lesser, Justice Resource Center, dlesser@schools.nyc.org

Stephen L. Schechter, Council for Citizenship Education, Russell Sage College, schecs@aol.com

OHIO: Leigh Chiarelott, University of Toledo, leigh.chiarelott@utoledo.edu

OKLAHOMA: Jane McConnell, Oklahoma Bar Association, janem@okbar.org

OREGON: Marilyn R. Cover, Classroom Law Project, marilyncover@classroomlaw.org

TEXAS: Jan L. Miller, Law Related Education, State Bar of Texas, jmiller@texasbar.com

WASHINGTON STATE: Kathy Hand, We the People Program, kathyhand@comcast.net

WISCONSIN: Jack Jarmes, Wisconsin Project Citizen Program, jackjarmes@yahoo.com

WYOMING: Carol Bryant, Wyoming Partnership for Civic Education, bryantcj@uwyo.edu

International Partners

Africa (Sub-Sahara)

Ghana: Gladys Osman, National Commission for Civic Education, gladys.osman@yahoo.com

Kenya: Godfrey Mse, Civic Quotient Center, godshedd@yahoo.com

Madagascar: Dustin Eirdosh, University of Toliara, dustin@unitoliara.info

Malawi: Misheck Munthali, Civitas Malawi, Domasi College of Education, myagontha@yahoo.co.uk

Mali: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Mauritius: Amode Taher, Civitas Mauritius, ataher@govmu.org

Namibia: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Nigeria: Nimi Walson-Jack, Civitas Nigeria, nimisoere@yahoo.co.uk

Senegal: Boubacar Tall, Sencirk, boubacartall@gmail.com

South Africa: Anash Mangalparsad, Center for Community and Educational Development, anashm@mweb.co.za

South Sudan: Contact the Center for Civic Education  

East Asia, South Asia, and Pacific Regions

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma, Cambodia: Contact the Center for Civic Education

China:

   Jiangsu Province: Wencan Ju, Teaching Research Office, Jiangsu Provincial Education Department, juwencan@yahoo.com.cn

   Shandong Province: Xiumei Cui, Academy of Education Sciences of Weifang City, sdwfcxm@tom.com

   Shanghai: Ye Weiliang, Teaching Research Institute, Shanghai Municipal Education Commission, yweil55@126.com

   Shanxi Province: Congying Li, The Academy of Educational Sciences of Shanxi Province, licongying_@163.com

   Yunnan Province: Qihan Long, The Academy of Education Sciences of Yunnan Province, lqh_5125142@163.com

India: Meera Balachandran, Learning Links Foundation, meerabal@hotmail.com

Indonesia: William J. Ryan, Center for Civic Education Indonesia, liamryan@bit.net.id

Japan: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Malaysia: Abdul Rahim Ibrahim, Malaysia Citizenship Initiative, rahimib@usm.my

Mongolia: Narangerel Rinchin, Center for Citizenship Education, cce@magicnet.mn

Nepal: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Pakistan: Zafarullah Khan, Center for Civic Education Pakistan, contact@civiceducation.org

Philippines: Monica Ang, Philippine Center for Civic Education and Democracy, monica.ang@gmail.com

South Korea: Hyung-sik Shin, Korea Democracy Foundation, style21@kdemo.or.kr

Sri Lanka: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Taiwan: J.P. Chang, Civic and Law Related Education Foundation, jpchang@dlaw.com.tw

Thailand: Supanat Permpoonwiwat, King Prajadhipok’s Institute, supanat.p@hotmail.com

Vietnam: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Central and Eastern Europe

Czech Republic: Ivana Havlínová, Civitas–CZ, ihavlinova@email.cz

Estonia: Sulev Valdmaa, Civic Education Centre, Jaan Tonisson Institute, sulev@jti.ee

Hungary: Tibor Gál, Civitas Association, Hungary, tibor@civitas.hu

Latvia: Aija Tuna, Education Development Center, aija.tuna@latnet.lv

Lithuania: Giedre Kvieskiene, Lithuanian College of Democracy, giedre.kvieskiene@gmail.com

Poland: Jacek Strzemieczny, Center for Citizenship Education, jacek@ceo.org.pl

Romania: Calin Rus, Intercultural Institute of Timisoara, calin.rus@intercultural.ro

Slovakia: Marcela Maslova, Orava Association for Democratic Education, marcelam@projectorava.sk

Ukraine: Polina Verbytska, All-Ukrainian Association of Teachers of History, Civic Education and Social Studies “Nova Doba,” center@novadoba.org.ua

Southeastern Europe

Albania: Shefqet Shyti, Institute for Democracy and Mediation, shefqetshyti@yahoo.com

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ivana Kesic, Civitas@Bosnia & Herzegovina, ikesic@civitas.ba · Sandra Sladakovic, Civitas@Bosnia & Herzegovina, ssladakovic@civitas.ba

Bulgaria: Rumen Valchev, Open Education Centre, openedcen@gmail.com 

Croatia: Nevenka Loncaric-Jelacic, Education and Teacher Training Agency, nevenka.loncaric-jelacic@azoo.hr

Kosovo: Yllka Beqaj, Civitas Kosova, civitas.prishtina.rks@gmail.com · Mimoza Usaj, Civitas Kosova, civitas.prishtina.rks@gmail.com

Macedonia: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Montenegro: Bojka Dukanovic, Faculty of Philosophy, University of Montenegro, bojkadj@t-com.me

Serbia: Maja Stojanovic, Civic Initiatives, maja@gradjanske.org

Western Europe

Ireland/Northern Ireland: Margaret Lucey, Co-operation Ireland, mlucey@cooperationireland.org

Eurasia

Armenia: Tigran Tovmasyan, Armenian Civitas, ttovmasyan@yahoo.com

Georgia: Maia Gogoladze, Fund for Democracy Development, gogmaia@yahoo.com

Kazakhstan: Arman Argynov, Research and Information Center for Civic Education, arman_argynov@mail.ru

Russia: Evgeny Belyakov, Civitas Foundation, zbelyakov@yahoo.com · Peter Polozhevets, Russian Association for Civic Education, peterpol@redline.ru · Jakov Sokolov, Grazhdanin Training Center, sokolovjv@mail.ru

Turkey: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentina: Alexis Estevez, Asociación Conciencia, aestevez@conciencia.org · Silvia Uranga, Fundación Desarrollar, silvia@desarrollar.org

Bolivia: Ariel Mealla Aramayo, Educadores para la Democracia, epd@acelerate.com

Brazil: Marcia Vasconcellos Saab, Instituto da Cidadania, mvsaab@institutocidadania.org.br

Chile: Abraham Magendzo, O.N.G. Entorno, abrahammagendzo@gmail.com

Colombia: Susana Restrepo, Fundación Presencia, susana.restrepo@fundacionpresencia.com.co

Costa Rica: Marie-Laure Lemineur, Omar Dengo Foundation­­­­­­­, marie.lemineur@fod.ac.cr

Dominican Republic: Leonor Elmudesi, Consortium for Civic Education, leonor_bancalari@hotmail.com

Ecuador: Patricia Muñoz, Fundación Horizonte, horizonte@cablemodem.com.ec

El Salvador: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Guatemala: Carlana Imeri Velarde, Secretaría de Planificación y Programación de la Presidencia, carlana.imeri@segeplan.gob.gt

Haiti: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Honduras: Marlyn Denisse Miranda Erazo, Federación de Organizaciones No Gubernamentales para el Desarrollo de Honduras, miranda_erazo@yahoo.com

Mexico: Hugo Concha, Federal Electoral Institute, hugo.concha@ife.org.mx

Panama: Carmen Chacón de Cárcamo, Electoral Tribunal/Civitas Panama, ccarcamo@tribunal-electoral.gob.pa

Paraguay: Mercedes Aust, ONG Sumando, participacion@sumando.org.py

Peru: Wilian A. López Prieto, Instituto Peruano de Educación en Derechos Humanos y la Paz, wlopez@ipedehp.org.pe

Uruguay: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Venezuela: Luis Germán Mena, Civitas Venezuela, civitas_venezuela@cantv.net

Near East (North Africa and the Middle East)

Algeria: Said Chitour, Algerian Civitas Program, said.chitour@lycos.com

Bahrain: Khalid Al Khaja, Ministry of Education, alkhaja-k@hotmail.com

Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Jordan: Mona Alami, Jordanian Center for Civic Education, monaalalami@gmail.com

Lebanon: Roula Mikhael, Lebanese Center for Civic Education, roulamikael@hotmail.com

Morocco: Elarbi Imad, Moroccan Center for Civic Education, imadi261@yahoo.com

Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia: Contact the Center for Civic Education

Tunisia: Amara Benromdhane, Social Development and Empowerment Center, benromdhaneamara@yahoo.fr

West Bank and Gaza: Refaat Sabbah, Teacher Creativity Center, refat@teachercc.org

Yemen: Contact the Center for Civic Education